About the Post

Author Information

I do honestly believe that people enter our lives for a reason. That everyone who we meet, who forms an impression has something to teach us. Everything that happens to us is an experience, and because of that it can never be bad. an experience can only be good because it all serves to shape the person that we are, the person that we become. -= the love whisperer =-

Movie That Inspire Me So Much: Money Ball

moneyball wp 03 standard

Film berbasis true story ini adalah salah satu film yang paling menginspirasi saya. Dari menit pertama sejak film ini ditonton, saya sudah fall in love duluan dengan setiap karakter dan percakapan di dalam film berdurasi 133 menit ini.

Sungguh, saat mengetahui bahwa film ini diambil dari true story, hanya ada satu ekspresi yang muncul di dalam pikiran saya, yaitu ‘wow’. Film bergenre biografi, drama dan sport ini benar-benar asyik diikuti dari awal hingga ending yang ‘manis’.

Money Ball memang sangat fokus dalam menceritakan sosok Billy Beane yang diperankan luar biasa oleh Brad Pitt. Menurut informasi yang saya kutip melalui wikipedia dan YouTube, Billy Beane ada general manager dan pemegang saham Oakland Athetics Major League Baseball Club.

Simak sebagaimana menariknya sosok Billy yang berhasil bekerja sama dengan Jonah Hill dalam proses menjadikan tim underdog menjadi tim pencetak sejarah.

Watch the trailer here.

And also the official website here.

moneyball wp 01 standard

Beberapa quote berbintang 5 yang paling saya sukai:

Grady Fuson: We’re trying to solve a problem here.
Billy Beane: Not like this you’re not. You’re not even looking at the problem.
Grady Fuson: We’re very aware of the problem.
Billy Beane: Okay, good. What’s the problem?
Grady Fuson: Okay, Billy. We all understand what the problem is. We have to replace…
Billy Beane: Good. What’s the problem?
Grady Fuson: The problem is we have to replace three key players.
Billy Beane: No. What’s the problem?
John Poloni: Same as it’s ever been. We’ve gotta replace these guys with what we have existing.
Billy Beane: No! What’s the problem, Barry?
Scout Barry: We need three eight home runs, a hundred twenty R.B.I’s and forty seven…
Billy Beane: Aaahhh! The problem we’re trying to solve is that there are rich teams and there are poor teams, then there’s fifty feet of crap, and then there’s us. It’s an unfair game. And now we’re being gutted, organ donors for the rich. Boston has taken our kidney’s, Yankees takin’ our heart and you guys are sittin’ around talkin’ the same old good body nonsense, like we’re selling deeds. Like we’re looking for Fabio. We got to think differently.

Peter Brand: There is an epidemic failure within the game to understand what is really happening and this leads people who run major league baseball teams to misjudge their players and mismanage their teams. I apologize.
Billy Beane: Go on.
Peter Brand: Okay, people who run ball clubs, they think in terms of buying players. Your goal shouldn’t be to buy players. Your goal should be to buy wins and in order to buy wins, you need to buy your run. You’re trying to replace Johnny Damon. The Boston Red Sox see Johnny Damon and they see a star who’s worth seven and a half million dollars a year. When I see Johnny Damon, what I see is…is an imperfect understanding of where runs come from. The guy’s got a great glove, he’s a decent league off hitter, he can steal bases. But is he worth the seven and a half million dollars a year the Boston Red Sox are paying him? No! No! Baseball thinking is medieval, they are asking all the wrong questions and if I say it to anybody I’m…I’m ostracized. I’m a rebel, so that’s why I’m…I’m cagey about this with you, that’s why I respect you Mr. Beane and if you want full disclosure, I think it’s a good thing you got Damon off of your payroll. I think it opens up all kinds of interesting possibilities.

[first day in his job]
Peter Brand:
Hey, Billy. I wanted you to see these player evaluations that you asked me to do.
[he hands Billy the document]
Billy Beane
: I asked you to do three.
Peter Brand: Yeah.
Billy Beane: To evaluate three players?
Peter Brand: Yeah.
Billy Beane: How many did you do?
Peter Brand: Forty seven.
Billy Beane: Okay.
Peter Brand: Actually, fifty one. I don’t know why I lied just there.

[showing Billy the results of the code his run on the computer]
Billy Beane
: What’s this?
Peter Brand: This is a code that I’ve written to run your projections. This is building in all the intelligence that we have to project players.
Billy Beane: Okay.
Peter Brand: It’s about getting things down to one number. Using stats to reread them, we’ll find the value of players that nobody else can see. People are over looked for a variety of biased reasons and perceived flaws. Age, appearance, personality. Bill James and Mathematics cuts straight through that. Billy, of the twenty thousand knowable players for us to consider, I believe that there’s a championship team of twenty five people that we can afford. Because everyone else in baseball under values them. Like an island of misfit toys.

[Ron and Billy visit Scott at his home]

Billy Beane: How’s the elbow, Scott?

Scott Hatteberg: You know, it’s good. It’s really good, it’s great. Uh…I can’t throw the ball.

Billy Beane: Yeah, you’ve thrown your last ball from behind home play, it’s what I’d say. Good news is, we want you in first. We want you to play first base for the Oakland A’s.

Scott Hatteberg: Okay, woh! I’ve only ever played catcher.

Billy Beane: Scott, you’re not a catcher anymore. If you were our call wouldn’t have been the only one you’d gotten when your contract expired.

Scott Hatteberg: Yeah. Hey, listen. No, I…I appreciate it.

Billy Beane: You’re welcome.

Scott Hatteberg: But the thing…the thing is uh…

Billy Beane: You don’t know how to play first base. Scott?

Scott Hatteberg: That’s right.

Billy Beane: It’s not that hard, Scott. Tell him, Wash.

Ron Washington: It’s incredibly hard.

Billy Beane: Hey, anything worth doing is. And we’re gonna teach you.

Billy Beane: You look unhappy, Grady. Why?

Grady Fuson: Wow! May I speak candidly?

Billy Beane: Sure. Go ahead.

Grady Fuson: Major league baseball and it’s fans they’re gonna be more than happy to throw you and Google boy into the bus if you keep doing what you’re doing here. You don’t put a team together with a computer, Billy.

Billy Beane: No?

Grady Fuson: No. Baseball isn’t just numbers, it’s not science. If it was then anybody could do what we’re doing, but they can’t because they don’t know what we know. They don’t have our experience and they don’t have our intuition.

Billy Beane: Okay.

Grady Fuson: Billy, you got a kid in there that’s got a degree in Economics from Yale. You got a scout here with twenty nine years of baseball experience. You’re listening to the wrong one. Now there are intangibles that only baseball people understand. You’re discounting what scouts have done for a hundred and fifty years, even yourself!

[playing the part of having to cut a player with Billy pretending to be a player]

Peter Brand: Billy, please have a seat. I need to talk you to for a minute

Billy Beane: Go on.

Peter Brand: You’ve been a huge part of this team, but sometimes you have to make decisions that are best for the team. I’m sure you can understand that.

Billy Beane: You’re cutting me.

Peter Brand: I’m really sorry.

Billy Beane: I just bought a house here.

Peter Brand: Well…

Billy Beane: You know?

Peter Brand: Oh, uh…well…

Billy Beane: Well…? Well! That’s all you got to say? My kids just started a new school, they made friends.

Peter Brand: That’s uh…well, you shouldn’t pull ’em out in the middle of the school year. You should wait.

Billy Beane: What the hell are you talking about?

Peter Brand: I don’t know! I don’t know! I shouldn’t…I’m not gonna do this. I don’t think that…this is stupid. I’m not gonna fire anybody and this is dumb!

Billy Beane: They’re professional ball players. Just be straight with them. No fluff, just facts. ‘Pete, I gotta let you go. Jack’s office will handle the details.’

Peter Brand: That’s it?

[Billy does a silent hand movement of cutting off the head]

Peter Brand: Really?

Billy Beane: Would you rather get a bullet to the head, or fire to the chest or bleed to death?

Peter Brand: Are those my only two options?

Billy Beane: Go on the road with the team.

Peter Brand: Okay.

David Justice: I’ve never seen a GM talk to players like that, man.

Billy Beane: You’ve never seen a GM that was a player.

David Justice: No.

Billy Beane: We got a problem, David?

David Justice: No, it’s okay. I know your routine. It’s a pattern, it’s for effect. But it’s for them, alright? That shit ain’t for me.

Billy Beane: Oh, you’re special?

David Justice: You pay me seven million bucks a year, man. So, yeah. Maybe I am a little bit.

Billy Beane: No, man. I ain’t paying you seven. Yankee’s are paying half your salary. That’s what the New York Yankee’s think of you. They’re paying you three and a half million dollars to play against ’em.

David Justice: Where you goin’ with this, Billy?

Billy Beane: David, you’re thirty seven. How about you and I be honest about what each of us want out of this? I wanna milk the last ounce of baseball you got in you and you wanna stay in the show. Let’s do that. I’m not paying you for the player you used to be, I’m paying you for the player you are right now. You’re smart, you get what we’re trying to do here. Make an example for the younger guys, be a leader. Can you do that?

David Justice: Alright. I got you.

Billy Beane: We’re cool?

David Justice: We’re cool.

[after winning their 20th game in a row]

Billy Beane: It’s hard not to be romantic about baseball. It’s the kind of thing it’s fun for the fans, sells tickets and hot dogs. It doesn’t mean anything.

Peter Brand: Billy, we just won twenty games in a row.

Billy Beane: And what’s the point?

Peter Brand: We just got the record.

Billy Beane: Man, I’ve been doing this for…. Listen, man. I’ve been in this game a long time. I’m not in it for a record, I’ll tell you that. I’m not in it for a ring. That’s when people get hurt. If we don’t win the last game of the series, they’ll dismiss us. I know these guys, I know they way think, and they will erase us. And everything we’ve done here, none of it will matter. Any other team wins the world series, good for them. They’re drinking champagne, they’ll get a ring. But if we win, on our budget with this team, we’ll change the game. And that’s what I want, I want it to mean something.

Peter Brand: How was Boston?

Billy Beane: Impressive.

Peter Brand: Did Henry make you a good offer at least?

Billy Beane: Doesn’t matter.

Peter Brand: What was it?

Billy Beane: Doesn’t matter!

What was it?

Billy Beane: It doesn’t matter!

Peter Brand: What was it?

[Billy takes out the paper with the offer written on it and passes to Peter and he reads it]

Peter Brand: Well, at least you got highest paid GM in the history of sports.

Billy Beane: So? So what? You know, I made one decision in my life based on money and I swore I would never do it again.

Peter Brand: You’re not doing it for the money.

Billy Beane: No?

Peter Brand: No. You’re doing it for what the money says and it says, well it says, that any player that makes big money, that they’re worth it.

Seriously, you have to watch this movie. I feel something different after i watched it. Eventually, I feel more faith in me.

Happy watching.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

